VERIZON Jetpack UNLIMITED Data Review – New NO THROTTLE Verizon Hotspot
Articles Blog

VERIZON Jetpack UNLIMITED Data Review – New NO THROTTLE Verizon Hotspot

August 15, 2019


Hello everyone. This is Amber with Story Chasing, and have
you heard of the new Verizon Jetpack unlimited data plan that has no throttle, and you want
to know if it’s legit? Then watch this video for my review of the
new Verizon no-throttle prepaid plan and how you can easily get it set up. For more how-to’s on van life in North America
and how to be a digital nomad, make sure you hit that ‘subscribe’ button and hit the notification
bell so that you get notified every time I upload a video every Thursday. Alright, so you’ve heard of this new Verizon
Jetpack prepaid plan, and let’s be honest, us digital nomads have been waiting a very
long time for a plan like this. It’s something that we all talk about, and
something that’s been a much-needed thing for us as we travel around the world or travel
in our RVs. So, the good news is, I think it’s here, but
let’s check it out and find out. So, I’m going to give you all the details
on this plan, and I’m going to show you my speed test and my review, and make sure you
stay until the very end, because I’m going to show you how to easily set this up. And trust me, it was a little bit of a headache
for me. I had to talk to four different Verizon agents
to get this set up, and some of them didn’t even know that the plan actually existed. Some of ’em want you to set up a new account,
some say you can put it on your existing account if you already have a Verizon account. And, well, some of it was true and some of
it was not, and I finally got it all squared away, so I’m going to show you what I learned
through the process so that you can easily go in and talk to an agent and get this set
up for yourself. So, the details of this Verizon prepaid Jetpack
plan is this. So, it is truly unlimited. The old plans were also unlimited as well,
so this is still unlimited. Now, where this differs is the old plans,
like the one that I have on my Verizon plan, is throttled, where this one is not throttled. And so, there’s no cap on it which is good,
that’s a huge plus for all of us. The other thing is that it is $65 per
month if you prepay for it. It’s advertised on the website as $70,
but there’s a $5 discount if you prepay. This plan is for Jetpack, so if you have one
of these little devices, it’s a Jetpack from Verizon, this happens to be a MiFi and the
one that I’ve been using. So, here’s where the clincher is, and you
probably knew there would be one. So, it is network-managed. I talked to the representative to find out
exactly what that means. So, this is what the Verizon representative
told me about network management. There’s this tier of priorities. So, emergency vehicles like police and ambulances
or firefighters, they’re gonna get priority number one. So, they have the top tier. The second one is people who are post-paid,
which means you have a normal account and you don’t prepay for it, you just have a post-paid,
which is like the current plan that I’m on where I pay for my cell phone and I pay for
my hotspot as a different line on my plan, and that one is subject to the throttle. So, those have the second priority. The third priority is prepaid, which is what
this plan is. So, prepaid is at the bottom of the barrel. I don’t really know why they do that, it doesn’t
make sense. We’re all paying money into it, but that’s
how they network-manage. So, of course when the representative told
me this, I was a little bit concerned because I certainly don’t wanna be bottom of the barrel,
and there are a lot of people out there who have the regular post-paid accounts, and so
being at the bottom of the tier as a prepaid customer, I was concerned that the network
management was gonna be too much and it was gonna be as if I was throttled like on my
existing plan. I went ahead and decided to get the prepaid
account and go ahead and test it out so that I can find out if it’s going to be better
than my original account. Then, I can make some decisions on the original
hotspot that I have on my account already, and it’s still under contract. So, the big question here is does this plan
really work, and is it truly a no-throttle plan as they say? The short, general answer is ‘yes’. So far, it has been working really, really
well for me, except for one specific situation, and I’m going to get into that in a minute. But the short answer is, yes, so far in the
two weeks that I’ve had it, it’s worked really, really well. So I am pleased with that. I will say, I was very skeptical in the beginning
about it, which is why I wanted to test it and really kind of put it through its paces
by taking it to rural areas, to city areas, and testing it at different times of the day
to see what kind of speeds I was getting and when I would see that slow-down because of
the network management. So, the first thing that we did in order to
be able to test this is when I talked to the representative, we suspended my current, existing
hotspot account, which is attached to my cell phone plan. And we suspended it temporarily for two months
just so I could test out the new prepaid Verizon plan and also still use my current Jetpack. I didn’t want to have to go buy new equipment. So, my cell phone plan is still working. We just suspended the hotspot right now until
I test this new prepaid plan. So, we actually had to set up a brand new
account for the prepaid plan, and I got a new SIM card. I could’ve just left the old, original hotspot
as-is and still paid for that account and have my Jetpack and still have a working SIM
card. But instead, what I did was I wanted to suspend
it because I wanted to use my existing Jetpack, which is this one right here. I wanted to use this existing Jetpack so that
I didn’t have to buy new equipment, especially in case I didn’t like the plan and it didn’t
work for me. So, we suspended the old account, opened a
brand new account, got a new SIM card, and I was able to use that new SIM card in this
Jetpack because the old SIM card is not deactivated, but just suspended. So, this was able to recognize the new SIM
card even though this is still under contract. So, that’s how we worked it. So, when I purchased the new prepaid plan,
I was in Dana Point, California, and I was there for about a week with the new prepaid
plan working. And I had phenomenal results, actually. I was really surprised by that, because I’m
in this city with a lot of people, it’s Southern California. Los Angeles is right there, it’s just a huge
urban area. So, I was again, very skeptical that it was
going to work, but it did work, and I was actually able to upload a YouTube video on
it within 30 minutes, something that might’ve taken me an hour to an hour and a half using
my AT&T hotspot, which wasn’t getting really good service there at that point in time. Verizon was a stronger carrier in that area,
so it was really great to see that it was able to upload a video, no problem whatsoever,
in a very populated, urban area. So, fast forward another week and I actually
went to the desert and decided to test it out in that area. So, this particular area that I was in has
great service for AT&T and Verizon, and I decided to go ahead and do some speed tests
in the evening and in the morning to see what that was like. And I’m going to show that to you now. So, the first test we’ll do is the Verizon
AM speed test. And I will tell you, this really underperformed
especially compared to what the speeds were when I was in Dana Point, California, although
I did not get an actual speed test on record like I am here. AT&T speed test in the morning actually did
really, really well. And again, this may or may not be because
of the cell tower strength here, it may just be that AT&T has a better signal in this rural
area that I’m in versus Verizon. So it can’t be considered conclusive, but
these results that AT&T is necessarily better than Verizon and that Verizon doesn’t actually
perform very well, or there’s the network management issue. So, even though both carriers are working
very well in this rural area, Verizon underperformed, and that was pretty surprising. I tried it in the morning and the evening
as you saw, and I was very surprised by underperforming, especially compared to a city that was so
populated. There’s not very many people out here where
I’m at in the desert, so I’m not sure why that is, but it was just an interesting thing
to note, and we’ll just continue testing it. So, I’m curious if you guys have already been
set up on this prepaid plan, and if so, leave me a comment below. I’d love to hear what your thoughts are on
it, what your findings have been. Are you using it a rural area, or a city area? So, make sure you leave me a comment below
if you’ve already signed up for this plan. Whether you have an existing account or your
not a Verizon customer at all, you’re going to need to set up a brand new account. So, prepaid accounts have to have their own
account, separate from an existing Verizon account that you have. So, if you are a new customer to Verizon,
this is going to be pretty easy. You literally just go to their website and
you go ahead and sign up for an account. So, click on the link in my description box
to go directly to the prepaid plans area, scroll down to find the Jetpack and tablet
plans, and you’ll see the unlimited plan for 65 dollars. And then you’ll need to pick out your actual
Jetpack, the one for the MiFi is actually on back order right now, so the Ellipsis is
the only one available. Click ‘next steps’, ‘new customer’, and then
they have these different plans, but the one you wanna select is the unlimited data for
70 dollars, although it is 65 dollars prepaid. So, if you’re an existing Verizon customer,
this is where it can get a little bit tricky. So, you can go through the same methodology
that we just went through with setting up a new account if you’re an existing Verizon
customer no problem whatsoever, you can do that completely separate. But if you’re like me and you have that Jetpack
already and you wanna use an existing Jetpack, then you will have to either deactivate the
old SIM card you have and get rid of that particular line if you no longer want it and
use the new SIM card on the new account and put that into your Jetpack. Or you could do what I did so that you can
test it out and then just suspend your existing account, go ahead and get the new prepaid
account, and use that SIM card in your old Jetpack. So, the trick is, is if you want to use your
existing Jetpack. If you still wanna use your existing Jetpack,
then these are the steps that you need to go through in order to make sure that your
old Jetpack works with your new SIM card. So, once you know the steps in order to get
the account set up, then it shouldn’t be a problem for you whatsoever, even if you wanted
to go into the store and get it all set up there, just show them exactly what I showed
you on the website by going to the prepaid plans option, and then click on that one that
says 70 dollars. And remember, it’s really 65 dollars, but
it’s a five dollar discount for prepaying. So, that’s where the 65 and the 70 come in. So, so far I really like what I see with the
plan. I had that one exception in the rural area,
but other than that, I was able to upload a video pretty quickly, so I’m pleased with
that. I think it’s still a little too early to tell
right now if I’m going to stay with this plan, but I am testing it for two months, so I will
do a follow-up video review after two months to let you know my findings and show you speed
tests and the places that it actually really worked well, and the places that it did not
work well. And let’s just decide if it’s a plan that’s
worth keeping, or should I go back to my original hotspot contract and just use that particular
account for my backup to my AT&T account. So, here’s the thing about these plans. If you’re anything like me, I wanted to jump
on this before anything changed with the plan so I could start testing it right away. The good news is, it’s a prepaid plan and
no contract, so if you’re wanting to jump on this plan as well, then click the link
in my description box or in the pinned comment to go directly to the prepaid section of the
Verizon website and go ahead and get your account set up as well. As I mentioned a moment ago, I also have an
AT&T hotspot in conjunction with my Verizon hotspot. And I use both of them as backups depending
on the area, but I’m going to put together another video that shows exactly how I stay
connected on the road in my camper van and how I work remotely as a digital nomad. Also, make sure you click on the next video,
which is on your screen now, which shows my review of the Hymer Aktiv Campervan that I’ve
been living in for six months. Click that video now and hit that ‘subscribe’
button if you wanna see more videos on van life in North America and how to be a digital
nomad. Alright guys, see you in the next video.

Only registered users can comment.

  1. * See updated review: https://youtu.be/Qme4JiPdlrI * Very TIME SENSITIVE NEWS*** AT&T is increasing their rates so this rate will increase as well on 9/1/19. In order to take advantage of the current rate, you'll need to sign-up BY 8/31/19!! You will be grandfathered into that price then. If you've already purchased the data plan then you are grandfathered in and you will NOT receive a price increase. ★→→ To get started with your AT&T plan: https://www.storychasing.com/att
    Customer service is available until 6 Pacific Time
    Nighthawk hotspot: https://bit.ly/2XPM7eF
    Unite Explore hotspot: https://amzn.to/2MfXzL9
    Make sure you have a SIM card for the hotspot or you can purchase from Best Buy together.

    ★ ★Verizon Jetpack Unlimited Data Prepaid Plan: Setup your account: https://www.storychasing.com/verizondata

    ★ Free Mini Course on Expenses & Budgeting for Travel:

    Get my full annual budget including personal expenses, a budget template for you, learn how to budget for your travels, and tips on saving money in your budget so you can start traveling sooner and live your best life.

    https://www.storychasing.com/rvexpenseminicourse

    ★ My Favorite Gear & Equipment I Use (Amazon affiliate links)

    Kitchen:
    Stashers Bags: https://amzn.to/2BXiTQp
    Vitamix Blender: https://amzn.to/2PMPfQU
    Instant Pot: https://amzn.to/2PKOWG1
    Favorite Instant Pot Accessory PIP: https://amzn.to/2wnDKHr
    Best Coffee/Espresso Maker: https://amzn.to/2BXEx78
    No paper coffee filter: https://amzn.to/2BW8cxr

    Van Gear:
    SumoSpring Bumps: https://amzn.to/2D28qD6
    SumoSprings Front Coils: https://amzn.to/2CZTyVB

    Camera Gear:
    My main camera Panasonic Lumix: https://amzn.to/2PKRjsz
    Dash Cam/Action Cam: https://amzn.to/2KLndkI
    Second backup camera: https://amzn.to/2MIKjdy
    Best bendy flexible tripod: https://amzn.to/2P2D41U
    My phone wide angle lens: https://amzn.to/2vEd5FP
    Does it all phone mount, lights, microphone: https://amzn.to/2vC9cBr
    Favorite omnidirectional camera mic: https://amzn.to/2OWWYey

    Travel Gear:
    Get unstuck from sand/mud/dirt: https://amzn.to/2MBzpuk
    Can't do without it cell booster: https://amzn.to/2vFAoiw
    My book for traveling: https://amzn.to/2OxDSe9

  2. Digital Nomad? Back in the day, working construction I use to live out of my van and motels, my friends referred to me as a bumm because when I was home I would park in their driveways and use their showers because they had real homes. BTW, there was no internet like today or cell phones, I had a pager lol

  3. I went to Verizon yesterday to pick up one of these devices and they had them in stock but when I asked the sales person about caps and slowdowns he said you get 15 gigs of unthrottled internet and after that you get knocked down to 600 kg be which I think is barely a little more than half of a gigabyte which means you can't watch Netflix Hulu you can't stream videos on half a megabyte or gigabyte. So I was like no thanks now there's a possibility the guy could have been wrong this was a corporate Verizon store I was in but what everybody on YouTube is saying about it doesn't match up with what this guy says and I know on my Verizon cell phone once you go over 15 gigs it drops down to 600 KGB and you can't do anything it takes 30 45 seconds to a minute to open a web page or to open Facebook. I wish I could get to the bottom of it this sounds like a really good plans if it works like this lady says it does but the people at Verizon that I talk to you like I said yesterday sad that it's not Unlimited it's only unlimited 222 no 15 gags and after that it gets bumped down no matter whether the tower your on is busy or congested or not to 600 KGB which you can't really do anything with. if anybody has this and it's not working the way I'm explaining please explain how it's working for you if you've used 15 gigs worth of data on it. I thought from what I've seen on videos like this that it was not slow down at all no matter how much you used unless you live in a congested City where the towers are overloaded and then they would slow you down. Where I live I have 5 bars of 4G and I usually get between 30 and sometimes up to 60 megabytes per second on cell phone through Verizon so I was hoping that this hotspot seems how are Towers or not being used very much because there's probably less than a thousand people on it and most of the time probably 500 or less. but the guy I talked to yesterday in Roseville on Douglas Boulevard says that after 15 gigs you get shut down to 600 KGB and that's not a quarter as much as you need to be able to stream videos without buffering so I told him no thanks.

  4. So help me understand. Currently I am a Verizon cell phone customer but I have considered straight talk and TracFone. Does this Verizon hotspot work with the cell phone carriers and is there an issue with Verizon if you do not use their cell phone plan. Interesting video thank you

  5. I returned our 2nd 8800L Jetpack to Verizon today. I was supposed to exchange it for a new one since tech support told me it was defective. Instead the Verizon customer service people made me so mad I returned it, ate the restocking fee and walked away.

    The 8800L seemed very promising and when it worked it was fine. It did not work on a regular reliable basis. It began dropping us off the network, frequently. So often that it was useless as an internet service providing device. I called the manufacturer, INSEEGO, and the man I spoke with admitted they have had many complaints about the units dropping off, not letting anyone log on, appearing to be on the internet but downloading nothing. This went on for 3 weeks and 2 units. The 2nd one worked for 10 days almost flawlessly, and then started the same BS. Verizon tech people, tier 1, tried to help but nothing they offered fixed the issue. When I signed up for the unlimited prepaid plan, and then had problems and called tech support, 2 out of 3 tier 1 tech support agents would not talk to me because it was prepaid. They sent to Prepaid tech support, which was a joke. No one in prepaid tech support knew anything about the device. I knew more, which is not saying much. Verizon is a nightmare company.

    No more tries with Verizon. Looking into resellers of unlimited data and a device that actually works.

  6. I have had the Jetpack $65 prepaid plan for 3 weeks. It seems as soon as I hit 60gb of data my jetpack got throttled, and not only during "congested times". My jetpack will be downloading at .538kbps, While my phone (on a 3rd party verizon plan) will run at 4-6 mbps download. I live out in the middle of nowhere and the closest tower is 8 miles away in a very small town. I'm thinking there shouldn't be any congestion. I'll wait and see how this last week go's to decide if I keep it.

  7. 1/31/2019 this plan doesn’t work!! I have been in all kinds of areas and different times. Buyers beware of lost time and money 💰!!! From 4 bars all the way to 1 bar its no different slow as hell!!! From a city at 12 at night to a tower in the middle of nowhere at my house at 5:00 am!! I’m in this for around 127.16 flushed down the toilet 🚽 after I send the jet pack back to Verizon😡😡😡!! From Montgomery to Dothan Al it a joke anytime of the day.

  8. I'm gonna be getting one of these jetpacks this weekend. Don't know if I should buy an old one or a new. The 200 dollar one or the 49 dollar one???

  9. Key is. To buy a hotspot from 3rd party. (eBay, Amazon) then walk into a store, get Sim card. Then set it up on your own.

  10. We are full timers and use a VZ unlimited shared unlimited plan with two iPhones and one iPad with cellular. I was checking out the VZ wireless website and got into a chat session with a rep. He said I could add a Jetpack to our account for only $20 and it would not be throttled after 15g as my iPhones are when I use the hotspot. I assume it would be subject to the 22g network managed limited depending on the cell tower traffic. I decided to visit a VZ store soon and get their take on this. A Jetpack would make things easier in our trailer since my laptop and my wife's iPad do not have cellular connectivity.

  11. They capped mine and still tell me they can’t fix it I have the no throttle plan I’m prepaid and I’ve spoken too over 20 customer care reps including techs still no WiFi for a week they said I went over my gbs which is suppose too be unlimited and I paid my bill was due on the 5 th and still not working

  12. Its crazy how in two different parts of town I'm getting 2 different speed. It's faster at my home but slower 15 mins up the road lol

  13. No throttling but contract subs get priority on the networks so lag and latency SIGNIFICANTLY change the flow of data depending on where and how busy the network you are on. Where she talks about network management.

  14. So where the fudge do you buy the shit? I'm getting tired of,the run around… Been to verizon store they said go to Wal-Mart for prepaid. Then went there and they dont even carry any sort of hotspot.. Wtf am I missing?

  15. Thanks for turning us on to this plan. We're on our second month. Happy so far. What they don't tell you, in the fine print, is that you get shoved to the bottom of the totem pole, so to speak, on the tower. So when it gets really busy, one may expect the lag monster to show up (or worse, your signal gets dropped). I noticed performance goes way down during prime time.

  16. I just got this recently and I love the plan but my mifi router keeps rebooting over and over again. I spoke with Verizon about it and they're going to do a replacement but made it clear I had to do it within 14 days of purchase. They seemed very confused on how to proceed on pre-paid plans.

  17. What we were thinking is getting Verizon's $65 Prepaid Unlimited Hotspot Plan & keeping our T-mobile ONE All In Promo plans. Would that work together?

  18. Yep they will throttle it , Watch Rusty78609 New video (2-25-19) they throttle him and he just got his a couple of months ago. pretty interesting. and the old bait and switch is alive and well. Good luck .

  19. bottom line= not unlimited. typical from facist pig verizon you have had it 2 weeks, not long enough to do a good review. you will find out as you travel it depends on how many people are on the same tower is you. unlimited means unlimited and this plan is no. typical corp lie's

  20. It seems to me Companies like Verizon have various amounts of bandwidth on their towers that is going unused. The priority tiers allow them to sell this extra bandwidth, but not at the expense of their "regular" customers that remain under their data caps each month, which is fine BTW. Customers remaining under their caps get priority over their other customers that exceed them. So my thought is…Even if the prepaid Jetpact works just fine now, what is going to happen when thousands upon thousands of their customers buy them for their homes, with the kids playing games in three different rooms, cutting their cable TV, in favor of streaming Netflix and Hulu in HD in every room in the house on 4 different TVs, uploading utube videos and watching utube using the cell towers? That's right, my speed is going to tank without the tiered system currently in place when everyone figures it out and ditches their DSL in favor of wireless 4G. I never exceed my data or Hotspot caps, so I am never throttled, and in fairness that is the way it should be! With Verizon, I can stream an occasional movie on Friday or Saturday night again. Unlike when I had DSL. Which would constantly buffer during peak times. Now it appears, the whole neighborhood wants to ditch their DSL and switch over to the cell towers. Of course they have no problem wanting to also continue to use a terabyte or more of data per month while their at it, taking all the bandwidth again. I appreciate what Verizon is doing to protect it's "normal" users. This is typical human shortage mentality, I want 4G for the same price or less than my current wired service, and of course I want unlimited! The current system stops this fortunately. People don't realize that true unlimited without data caps and throttling will result in speeds slower than their wired service is after the "Data Hogs " figure it out and pile on. Tiers. Caps, and Throttling stop all that, and I'm obviously for it. I know it's a lot to ask, but can I please be allowed to load a simple web page or look at my email occassionally without waiting an hour for it to load? Or is that too much to ask? I love it when I hear people say, " I would switch right now if it weren't for the data caps and throttling". Which is exactly my point because the customers saying that all want to exceed the current data caps. Until technology is able to catch up with demand, sharing in a fair and civilized manner? Never going to happen unless it's forced by the carriers. As is fortunately the case here with Verizon and the others.

  21. Sounds too good to be true, I pay for two DSL lines I get 25/2 per line.
    Thinking about getting this as I get 60/30 with my S9+

    I live in a rural area of Maine with less then 1k residents

  22. I have beyond unlimited and I get 15 gb of high speed then it drops to 600 ks until 22gb then it really slows and I pay 95 dollars a mouth they say its not capped or throttled it is I saw an ad were I could add an addional 5 gbs for 35 dollars wich then I would be paying about 140 a month after taxes oh forgot also im not getting 4g and hardly do they told me that it because is bouncing off 2 different towers they said what would help is if I bought an antenna for my mifi for 200 dollars from them and they would re-emburse me what FRICKEN SENSE THAT MAKES!!!!! watch ulimted movies til your hearts content yea my ass beware HOW IN ITHE HECK CAN U CALL THIS U.N.L.I.M.T.E.D STOP LYING

  23. You wasted a lot of time and Data on repetition and self promotion. This isn't at all useful to people looking to change plans. You're preaching to the choir.

  24. For anyone wanting true unlimited direct from the provider from att for only 29 a month send me a message and I'll show you how a lot of the companies are just buying this exact service an reselling it to you for double the price.

    Also will show you how how to get a mofi for less than half what they charge. Since there just rebranding a device.

    I have nothing to gain from this but as someone who went many years with no internet access and now work as a programmer I know how it feels not to be able to use all those streaming services, play games online, pay your bills or work from home because you can't get high speed internet.

  25. My jet pack sux using Verizon prepaid on an unlocked nighthawk by att and working flawless used 30 gigs I. 30 minute no throttle still strong

  26. **warning**
    The only option for a prepaid hotspot is now $45/mo for 15GB!!!
    I cry 😭
    WTH is wrong with this world

  27. What does the jetpack actually do? I'm trying out the 45$ plan right now. I guess it's ok. You recommend the unlimited?

  28. Is a 5yr old jet pak capable to work with new Verizon jet pak plan. Speed and everything? I Still have my old plan with old jet pak. Live in a very rural area Southeast Ohio

  29. I talked to customer representative and there no such a thing as unlimited as of march 24 2019 theres still a cap at 20 GB but it wont be as slow as the hotspot on your phone
    I haven’t tried it yet ¿anyone that has gone over the 20GB ? Whats your speed after that

  30. love the video. I subscribe to your Channel , did you know they have 5G & 6 g in operation right now over there where you were. yes to make you aware big thumbs👍 up for this channel.

  31. HELP!! Is this too good to be true? So what this means is after 15GB of Data Usage on the Jetpack, it won’t slow down to 600kbps? This is the issue we are having with our current plan is after 15GB on our hotspot we are slowed down to 600kbps which is honestly a joke! I do understand that they will prioritize data usage during busy times of congestion! However, as long as it doesn’t go as low as 600kbps then I would be happy! Even at the highest congestion, 2mbps would be way better than 600kbps! And from what I’ve seen in the comments even at the highest point of congestion the speeds are faster than 2mbps! If that is that case this would be amazing to have!

  32. I am slightly confused… maybe I missed something? Why not get the Post-Paid plan instead of this Pre-Paid plan? Or is it that the Post-Paid plan cannot be had without the throttling after 15GB? Is that why the Pre-Paid has lowest priority, because it has no throttle?

    I currently have a smart phone and a Verizon home wireless 4G router, each has 15GB of 4G bandwidth per month before being throttled… I honestly don't need even 15GB on my phone, I don't use it for internet data that much (until I have to switch to it's hotspot!), but I sure could use more than 15GB of 4G on my home wireless router!!!! Right now when the router runs out of 4G bandwidth and gets throttled, I switch to my phone's hotspot until it hits the 15GB 4G limit or my monthly reset occurs (which is mainly an inconvenience…. but I'd like to be able to use Hulu and maybe Netflix at home instead of satellite tv, but they would eat my total 30GB's up well before the end of the month even if I was frugal with those services).

    I currently pay some ~$120 a month for this, and am out of contract for years now. Is there a better way? Verizon has the only tower I can get good signal from where I live, and though cable internet was run less than 1/16 mile from my driveway they will not bring it any closer! Arghhh!

  33. I thought I need the Verizon jetpack when I travel in my RV 3 months out of the year. I called Verizon and they said there's the $65/$70 month charge but every time you call to disconnect to have to pay a activation fee every time. Also they said it is limited date and you get throttle down after like 20gig. So why bother when I have hotspot on my phone included for the same data plan?

  34. Is this going to be the new Internet service for home. I'm paying $80 per month to my ISP Cox Internet service. Verizon cell tower is close by so I should not have a problem with a good connection. I could still install a small external antenna on the roof for a better connection. The only problem is I have about 25 wire and wireless devices in my house. I guess I could setup a wireless router for most of them.

  35. I got rid of the Jet Pack.. Saved $35.00 a month. I use my i phone . I have 15 gig plan throttled after that. On vacation for the winter with no other Wi Fi at the Campgrounds. I’ve used as much as 70 g a month. Not much of a difference after my 15 limit. You tube and much more work fine.

  36. Network managed is throttling just not specifically on data like so much data etc. it is throttled by times

  37. So what about the existing plan with hotspot? How can you eliminate your own hotspot and just use the jet pack?

  38. I love my jetpack I've had it for 5months had problems adding my prepaid card who to call etc…and once I got it all correct on the phone I found it very easy to pay for my mins I pay 75.00 a month but my bill is 70.00 the extra 5 does add up and I will have a month where I don't have to pay for it I can tell you it's so worth it and I love it

  39. The jetpack you use will also determine your download and upload speeds which may be why your Verizon didn't do well in the desert and AT&T did. I'm just learning that myself because I am trying to buy one. Was going to buy the cheaper Ellipsis until i found out the newer jetpacks have triple and quadruple the upload/download speeds in same locations.

  40. Make sure you pay your share and do not expect to get anything for free from anyone. Verizon is going you a favor for the service so be thankful

  41. The directions no longer show the $65 unlimited plan :'( Is there another way to get this plan? Ive seen where others took their own Jetpack to Verizon had a sim card installed and set up an account then ask to switch to upgrade jetpack. I personally dont want the latest Jetpack 8800l, horrible reviews, just want the $65 unlimited plan. HELP!!!

  42. Amber, You discussed data rate (e.g. megabits per second) but not data amount (e.g. used 200 gigabits of data in a month and didn't get throttled), that would be the "unlimited data" item. Also, while I understand that your video was posted in November 2018 and it's now May 2019, it seems pretty clear to me from the Verizon web site and discussion with Verizon, that the jetpack unlimited data plan is gone, no longer available.

  43. I'm having trouble settling in one place, so home WiFi is a definite no. This plan seems so convenient that I will buy this next week. Maybe now I'll have a good excuse to begin vanlife haha

  44. Verizon login when you have a jetpack is insane. They want to send you a text, but the jetpack can't receive texts. Stupid! I wasted 5 hours trying to login to the account. It took 3 hours to find a way to speak with a human, and they still couldn't get this problem corrected. Great service coverage, horrible website access if you have a jetpack! Don't waste your time trying to log in, just go to the local Verizon store to pay your bill! You can't even use their chat if you don't log in.

  45. I have one of these that has been de-activated for a few years now and i am looking for a solution around the caps and throttling of the supposed "unlimited data" plans they offer. I know this video is 6 mo. old now and was wondering what you thought of this method that you are testing.

  46. Thank you for your concise critique. So frustrating that full-time rvers have to play so many games to get decent internet😡 It’s like living dial-up all over again 👎

  47. Where are you seeing unlimited broadband service? No google searches are yielding any results about unlimited, no throttling, broadband service.

  48. Sadly, now they don't offer the Unlimited plan anymore. Now they offer 30GB for $65 I could burn through that within 30 mins

  49. I just got the 8800L and it’s great for gaming. But, the downloads speeds seem to decidedly decrease when downloading a game. We have a separate account for the Jetpack. I don’t know what the problem is.

  50. Fact Checking – I was told by a Verizon chat rep that the Jetpak Prepaid will NOT WORK OUTSIDE THE USA! If this is not true I'd really like to know… Traveling to Canada this week for about a week.

  51. I went to Verizon today and they only offer throttled hotspot plan. Pay $70 for 15 gigs and then 3g speeds I was told.

  52. THIS PLAN IS RETIRING ON MAY 21, 2019

    GET IT ACTIVATED by MONDAY at CLOSE OF BUSINESS.

    May 17 Update: We have confirmed direct with Verizon that the Prepaid Unlimited Data Plan for Jetpacks (pUDP) IS retiring on May 21st – and that existing customers will be grandfathered in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *